top of page

ABBY + TRAYTON | A SURPRISE LAKE MICHIGAN PROPOSAL | SOUTH HAVEN, MICHIGAN


Have you ever received a text so exciting that it completely took your breath away? Well, I got one of those texts a month (+ 2 days) ago!


When I was fifteen, I started babysitting for Courtney and Abby, two of the cutest, feistiest girls e-v-e-r! Over the years, I basically adopted them as my little sisters, and we've remained close well into adulthood, despite long distances, college, and me becoming an old, married lady.


Fast forward to May 18th: I was in the car with my mom when I got a text from Abby's boyfriend, Trayton, saying that he had "something in the works" for her that he wanted me to be a part of. I immediately started shaking and squealing and tearing up before he could even go into detail about his proposal ideas!


Over the next week, Trayton came up with a game plan. Because it holds such sentimental meaning to them, he wanted propose to Abby at the lighthouse in South Haven, Michigan during a family camping trip. Noelle, my best friend/fellow photographer, and I would meet them at the beach to document the moment. It took every ounce of will power I had to keep the secret from Abby, but I did it. The big day finally came, and we all made it up to Michigan!


After Noelle and I scouted out the pier and decided where we needed to be, I walked back down to the beach to wait for them to arrive. I put the hood of my sweatshirt up to try to avoid Abby recognizing me by my hair. The combination of a face mask and a hood earned me some pretty funny looks!!


Trevyn, one of Trayton's 3 younger brothers, was with them and kept me updated on their location. I actually ended up beating them to the spot on the pier, so I tried to blend in with the tourists by taking pictures of boats making their way out of the marina.


In a matter of seconds, Trayton took the ring out of Trevyn's backpack, turned to face Abby, and, against the backdrop of an extraordinary Lake Michigan sunset, asked her to spend the rest of their lives together. All I could hear was a collective "Awwww" from bystanders. They clapped and congratulated them from a distance the entire time. It was perfect in every sense of the word, better than a dream!


Trayton had planned for Abby's parents to be at the beach too, so they secretly met up with Trayton's family and surprised her by walking down the pier following the proposal! After taking some family pictures in front of the lighthouse, we all went out for celebratory ice cream at Sherman's Dairy Bar.


I'm very proud of myself for keeping my composure throughout the night. I only cried one time, and it was only for a second or so! I am absolutely elated and beyond thankful that I had the chance to share such a monumental moment in Abby and Trayton's love story!


The best is yet to come!






bottom of page